Unmastered (A Book On Desire, Most Difficult To Tell) – Katherine Angel

Unmastered is the most personal book I’ve read in a long time. Much more so than I was expecting when I picked up a Penguin book.

We are taken on an exploration of Angel’s adult relationships, and how key moments defined who she became. She keeps to short, modern fragments of moments and thoughts. This gradually builds up the image of a woman working out what her desires are.

When I started I did have doubts about whether this was “My kind of book”. The choppy and disjoint writing took a few sections to start enjoying and appreciating the flow of. But once I was into it, I flew through this, then flicked back to reread sections, whilst noting a few references I intend to follow up.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.