Man Booker 2016 Tidy-up

I again took advantage of The Book People Man Booker shortlist pack as soon as the list was released, but then my September/October was busier than I expected, so I only managed to read three before the winner was announced (then the winner as it wasn’t one I’d done). I also failed to do most of my reviews at the time, so to tidy up for the end of 2016, I have some quick summaries below.

Do Not Say We Have Nothing – Madeleine Thien

This was a heavy read, about loss in the face of political change, love and family ties. It is also about how music can transcend these things: and how sometimes it can’t. Despite the serious nature of the subject matter I couldn’t stop turning the pages, lost in the worlds of Kai, Sparrow and Zhuli. The writing was good, it led to deep thinking and overall was a good read.

All That Man Is – David Szalay

I only read the first hundred pages of this. It was so tedious in its “plot” mostly about young men wandering every advantage they have and making the worst of themselves. Its gone to the charity shop.

Hot Milk – Deborah Levy

 I did manage to review this one. In summary: a page-turning read, but not really worth of the Booker.

The Sellout – Paul Beatty

This one didn’t particularly call to me from the shelves, so I only read it after it won. I can see why it was the one the judges agreed on; and feels very appropriate given the year we have just had. Because of the format of the writing, it was harder to follow: but that will also have been why it stood out to the judges.

Overall

I would have given the prize to Do Not Say We have Nothing: which is a suitably deep book whilst also being good to read.

One thought on “Man Booker 2016 Tidy-up

Leave a Reply

