Harry Potter and the Cursed Child – J. K. Rowling, John Tiffany, Jack Thorne

Like a lot of my generation, I read every Harry Potter as it came out. I can tell you where I read each one, from the first I “borrowed” from my little brother aged 11, cycling to the local town on release day to buy The Prisoner of Azkaban, through to a group of friends driving to the supermarket to pick up all our copies of The Deathly Hollows (and snacks) just after midnight, and spending the whole morning curled up in someone’s parents’ lounge, all of us devouring it with equal enthusiasm.

With Harry Potter framing much of my teenage years, of course I picked up a copy of The Cursed Child. There are spoilers below the cut.

In a way, it does scratch that itch as to what is happening with Harry and the gang. But in other ways it is deeply disappointing. There is much of a feel of fanfiction about it, with a ridiculously complex time-travel story that just plays with visiting everyone’s favourite concepts, but Rowling pulling out that the ending we had is the “right” one where good wins, so ultimately it is the one we have to return to.

We have unnecessary cameos from the fan’s favourites, and Harry getting to vent, as well as working out who he really is – again.

Go. Leave. I don’t want you here, I don’t need you. You were absent every time it really counted. I fought him three times without you. I’ll face him again, if needs be – alone.

Of course if it is that easy, and if good winning is such an unstable concept, then why has a time turner not been used by a death eater to achieve this already?

I am tempted to try and co-ordinate a read-through of this though. Plays somehow always work better that way.

Has anyone else read what must surely be the best selling script this year?

Leave a Reply

