The Girl With All The Gifts – M. R. Carey

This is the book selected as the opening book for my science fiction book group, so I’ve had it on my tbr pile and known it needs reading soon for the last month.

Once I was into it I really enjoyed it and read it in a single day over Christmas. Definitely the sort of book that is difficult to put down.

I did however pick it up, read the first few pages then give up a few times. It took a while to “grab” me as a concept, or to even understand how this counted as science fiction.

Unfortunately it’s near-impossible to discuss without some degree of spoiler as it is deliberately set up such that very little of the concept of the books is known at the start. Instead we are given a view of the world through Melanie, a girl who then discovers more about the world and her own place in it.The Girl With All The Gifts

2 thoughts on “The Girl With All The Gifts – M. R. Carey

Leave a Reply

