Dracula – Bram Stoker

The first of the adult books we have studied for the MOOC I’m currently doing, and I can’t believe I’ve never read this before. Its fantastical and written as a series of letters and journal entries! I love it for its storytelling style alone!

Plus its Halloween. I need to write about a horror book for Halloween. Plus I found myself standing next to a bride of Dracula in the loos at work.

Reading this analytically, I’ve noticed things like the difference in starting viewpoint that a Victorian novel has, plus how much it feeds into later vampire novels. There are some starting assumptions, like that women are delicate little flowers, that are laughable in a story set in modern times but are just how things are in a Victorian setting.

I read these the wrong way around, but it contrasts well the The Historian, set in modern times with women permitted to be much more capable.

Dracula is satisfyingly sinister and the plot for how to kill him takes a while to come together (once I got over one of the protagonists missing a perfect opportunity before he learns of vampires), for a while its easy to conceive of him succeeding in success or at least escape.

We’re reading Frankenstein next. Funfun!

Leave a Reply

