2014 Man Booker Shortlist – My picks

Over the last few weeks I’ve read the shortlist, as I’ve always intended to in previous years. There was one big disappointment: To Rise Again at a Decent Hour, one slight disappointment: How to be Both, and a few surprisingly enjoyable reads.

In summary I loved:

  • J certainly gave me something to think about in a post-apocalyptic world, and reason to contemplate the impact of prejudice.
  • I loved We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves, although thought it might border on too fluffy to win.
  • The Narrow Road to the Deep North was again a book that promoted thought on humanity, in a much darker way.
  • But I think that The Lives of Others deserves to win as a well-written, thoughtful piece that enlarged my understanding the most.

Post Announcement Thoughts

Whilst it wouldn’t have been my pick to win, The Narrow Road to the Deep North was a well-written piece of serious literature, a well-deserved prize winner.

One thought on “2014 Man Booker Shortlist – My picks

Leave a Reply

