Am I Missing Something – Iain Hollingshead

Am I Missing SomethingAm I Missing Something is the collection of unpublished letters to The Daily Telegraph from 2012-2013. Although the DT isn’t a newspaper I read (except when borrowing my Dad’s copy), this was on the returns trolley at the library, a lazy way to meet the resolution of reading outside my comfort zone.

It is an entertaining read, collecting an array of entertaining letters and astute observations about the world. There is a degree of “Disgusted of Tunbridge Wells”, but there’s far more letters from people who have a sense of humour. And at least the book acknowledges the stereotype as well. I suspect a large proportion of the letter-writers are also fans of the News Quiz and Now Show by the way in which both the news itself and the reporting style are turned to humour.

My favourite letter has to be:

SIR – What a fool I’ve been! For the past 50 years I have been labouring under the misapprehension that the payment of tax was mandatory. Thanks to Starbucks I now realise that it is voluntary. Put me down for a tenner, Mr Osborne, to cover my liability for the next two years.

Dave l’Anson, Formby, Merseyside

Leave a Reply

