The Happiness Project – Gretchen Rubin

The Happiness ProjectI don’t usually read self-help books but this was a reread of a book group book suited to the New Year as I typically make resolutions and set goals for the year ahead. I might even keep them this year. The Happiness Project has resonated with me for a long time, especially the paragraph:

Jamie is my fate. He’s my soul mate. He pervades my whole existence. So, of course, I take him for granted.

The whole book is about making an effort to do the things that make you happier in the long term without dramatically changing your life. It acknowledges that this is more difficult than the automatic response a lot of the time, but claims the effort is worth it. Making a difference to your own life by choosing how to spend time, and relationships by choosing where to put the effort into something constructive, recognising when you are expecting something unrealistic and choosing when to keep quiet and not overreact.

Of course it so often is, at the end of a day I feel much better if I’ve got some productive work done, done some baking and played with my son than if I’ve lounged around, browsed the internet and snacked mindlessly. Its just finding the motivation to do that former that’s the problem. The idea of being accountable to a “resolutions chart” even if kept privately seems a good idea. Which is exactly why I’m typing this rather than making one.

Leave a Reply

