Feathers in the Fire – Catherine Cookson

Feathers in the Fire is a lightweight historical story, dealing with relationships on a single farm in the 19th Century. It follows the demise of a prosperous farm, as “The Master” is discovered to be not all he acts as though he is.

On occasion this book is a little too chauvinistic for my taste. The women are often just hysterical pawns in the games the men are playing, which I found made them into rather 2D characters.

Not a book I would have picked up from choice, but this was my first Bookcrossing find, so I felt I had to give it a try. It was a reasonable choice for a light holiday read.

Leave a Reply

